I’ve saved an animal’s life.  Go out to the garage on Monday and there’s a chipmunk rummaging around in a 20 kilo bag of bird seed.  Sees me and dives to the bottom.  So I can either let it die and fish out its dead body or I make a mess.  It didn’t even chirp a thank you.  It took me 20 minutes to clean up the bird seed.

Come home today and there’s a sparrow completely entangled in the netting around my strawberries.  That’ll teach him.  Put on some gloves and went to work with some scissors.  I had to make about 15 cuts to the netting.  It was pretty calm about the whole thing.  Stood on my hand for about 5 seconds when done, then hopped away before it took flight.  Well, good day to you.

Speaking of strawberries.  The harvest has begun. A bit tart, but still pretty awesome knowing that you can get fresh strawberries 12 seconds from your back door. 

Image

My peppers are starting to look hot.

Image

My broccolis are starting to form heads.  I’m excited.  I had no expectations for these.  These are definitely going into the rotation in future years.

Image

Spider hanging out on a pumpkin flower.  My pumpkins have been a bust for the past 3 years, but these are looking ok.  A little on the yellow side and still a bit small, but we’ve got 3+ months still….

Image

I finally got around to thinning the lettuce.  About 3 weeks too late.  Oh well, it’ll give us a few salads this weekend.

Image

The mint growing on the patio box.  Oh wait.  There is no mint.  None of my herbs germinated.  Not to beat a dead horse, but even my wife with her black thumb is bad mouthing Halifax Seed.  Completely unacceptable.  The amount of non-germination I’ve had this year from Halifax Seed has been astounding.  I’ll be drafting a letter. 

Image

The play structure out back.  The fence is to keep the kids in and the coyotes and raccoons out.  The coyotes would like to eat the kids and the raccoons would like to use that sandbox as a toilet.

Image

The enchanted forest out the side of the house.  The neighbours are on the far side of the trees.  We had them over for a drunk last weekend.  It’s good that the foliage gets in the way.  I usually garden naked.

Image

The garden boxes from the back deck.  It’s been hit and miss this year.  The Sutton peas are coming up great but I have to wonder if it’s too late in the season.  Tomatoes look awesome.  Everything else could die and I would be ok with that as long as the tomatoes kept on going.  I don’t think the cauliflower is going to amount to much. 

Image

I’ve been meaning to put a fence around this for about the last 6 weeks, but nothing yet.  Lazy man’s garden.  I’m more reactive than proactive.  I’ll wait until the rabbits eat all the cabbage before I do anything. 

