Pink lady slipper.  It’s a wild orchard that grows around here.  It likes acidic soil which may give you an idea as to why I do most of my gardening in boxes.

Image

Slightly out of focus close up. My hand must have been shaking a bit.  I probably need a drink.

Image

Tomato in one of those upside down planters that they sell on tv for $19.95.  2 for $29.95.  I got the seedling planted, added the soil, as was carrying it over to hang up when I dropped it.  Crunch.  The stem broke in 3 places.  It didn’t break off, but the fibre that gives the stem support completely let go.  Hmmm…  Normally it would be a write off but I figured if I was going to hang it upside down then it doesn’t actually need the support.  2 weeks later and it’s all healed up (relatively speaking).  It took a week to decide whether it was going to live or die, but now that it’s decided on life, it’s begun to send out new leaves. I’m excited.

Image

View from the front porch on a beautiful Friday evening.  Newly planted apple tree – left of centre – it’s put out about 6-8 inches of new growth since I planted it 4 weeks ago.

Image

The rhubarb.  I’ve got 3 varieties going.  These are Canada Red (?) and some other kind that I stole from my father-in-law’s backyard.  The German something-or-other variety (off camera) seems to be more late season than this.

Image

