Called the boss, told him I was working from home today.  I did.  On the garden.

My peas in the inoculant.

Image

I was going to add my beans to the inoculant as well, but I’m planting them next to the cauliflower and I did a bit of googling to see if that would cause any problems.  Apparently it does.  I found some sort of scientific article on the use of rhizobium (the bacteria in the inoculant).  Apparently the rhizobium goes wandering and if it finds cauliflower it attaches to the root and causes the formation of nitrogen nodules.  Which is good in peas and beas.  But it causes structural deformities in cauliflower.  Google knows everything.

Cucumbers.  I think they’ve gone in early, but they couldn’t stay in the tray any longer.  They had actually started flowering, but I pinched them off.  A couple of them look pretty pathetic.  I’ll give them a few more days – I’ll leave the strong looking ones but the weak are getting thinned and replanted from seed.

Image

Bald faced hornet pollinating my strawberries.

Image

Hot pepper. Good it at Bloom on Hammonds Plains Road.  $3.50.  The kids picked them out.  This is an apache pepper.  I’m growing loco peppers as well, which are quite hot.

Image

Trying some pumpkins again.  I haven’t had much luck with pumpkins.  I think the soil ph is off or something.  I would test it, but let’s be realistic.  I’m not going to bother, and if I did I certainly wouldn’t go through the trouble of altering the ph.  That sounds like a lot of work.  They say 1 pumpkin per hill, but I’m an intensive gardener – maximizing the space is what it’s all about.

Image

Trying out some eggplants in the mini greenhouse.  Those greenhouses get hot.

Image

